Fairlie Yacht Club Boat Shed Logo


R R Fines  'Kerlo'

On 25th April 1961, four enthusiasts - Ronnie Fines, Jack Pearson, Hugh McLelland and Bill McCann - met at the home of Bill Strang, then Vice-Commodore of Clyde Cruising Club, formed a committee and so Fairlie Yacht Club was established!

The vision of these yachtsmen, who were at the forefront of developing Clyde sailing in the latter half of the 20th Century, has resulted in a club which has trained and encouraged sailors who have achieved national and international recognition, cruised and raced in Scotland and around the world. These founder members and the friends and associates they nurtured and encouraged has given the Clyde one of its best known and best recognised clubs in the country.

Twenty four members have served as Commodore and many more as Flag Officers and committee members since that time, and because of the initial vision and drive of these few men we now boast a club to be proud of and that is the envy of many.

The current Committee Members for season 2018 are;

Ricky Gray                   Commodore
Graeme Randall          Vice Commodore Fairlie and Race Committee
Robbie Briggs              Rear Commodore

David Carslaw             Hon Treasurer
Martin Maiden            Hon Secretary. Yearbook and Race Committee
Sandy Cunningham    Membership Secretary

Eileen Rae                   Fairlie Patch Race Secretary and Race Committee

Brian Young                Race Committee and LRW Rep

Alan Arkison               Social Media
Fiona Rae                    Social Media

Ex Committee:

Norman Cowie           Kip Race co-ordinator
Keith Agnew               Trophies Custodian
Peter Wright               Principal Race Officer and Race Committee


Boat for sale Scotland